Stamas named MIRS Senator of the Year

LANSING, Mich. — Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Jim Stamas on Monday was named Senator of the Year by the Michigan Information & Research Service (MIRS), a leading political news service in Lansing covering state government.

“I am dedicated to serving the Michigan people as best I can, and it is an honor to be recognized with this outstanding group of public servants for all the hard work we do to support the families, workers and job creators — especially in this year of unprecedented challenges,” said Stamas, R-Midland. “I am proud to have helped pass nearly $4 billion in critical funding to help fight the COVID-19 pandemic, support local communities in the wake of devastating flooding and balance historic budget deficits in both the 2020 and 2021 fiscal years. I remain committed to doing everything I can to help improve the lives of all Michigan families, and I thank MIRS for this tremendous honor.”

Among the items mentioned by MIRS in awarding Stamas were his leadership to ensure the pandemic and political environment did not impact the fiscal year 2021 state budget and several COVID-19 supplemental budgets, his work in the community to help those effected by historic spring flooding and his support of criminal justice reform.

“Sen. Stamas helped lead state government through a series of sticky budget issues in the shadow of explosive negotiations from the year prior. He forged several bipartisan agreements that received near unanimous support in both chambers, which is extremely rare,” said MIRS Editor and Vice President Kyle Melinn. “Sen. Stamas also helped his community during the spring floods with on-the-ground support and showed compassion toward the Black community after the George Floyd death put a bright, hot spotlight on the issue of racial injustice.

“Sen. Stamas blazed compromise and bipartisanship in a year marked by division, strife and consternation. It earned him respect from his colleagues on both sides of the aisle, making him a strong pick for Senator of the Year.”